NFL rule question
When the defensive team has a penalty on a scoring play, why does the offense get to accept the penalty and tack it onto the kickoff?
Does that mean that an Extra Point doesn't count as an actual play, but is just a continuation of the scoring play?
That would be my guess, but I wasn't 100% sure. It just seems odd to me that you can score(have a penalty on the play), kick the PAT, and THEN add the penalty yardage to the kickoff.
Anyone know what the point of this rule is? To me, it seems like if you accept the penalty it should be tacked onto the PAT(half the distance) instead of 2 plays later on the kickoff. Maybe I just don't understand, so I'm sure one of you can point me towards the light on this one lol
Last edited by Muhast : 12-03-2012 at 11:30 PM.