Originally Posted by LeonDixson
You rock, lady. (IIRC, you are female; if not I sincerely apologize) At any rate, you have put your finger on an aspect of this issue that I haven't seen discussed before, and you are absolutely right. One mistake (or intentional bias) by a ref on a phoney or ticky tack PI call or roughing the passer call could give a game away.
Maybe the work around could be that a penalty in these situations would not result in a first down but in a new 4th and 15 at with the penalty yardage assesed. Maybe make PI a 15 yarder in these situations as well. If we can start 4th down after a TD, we can also be selective in how we apply the PI rules, right?