Originally Posted by Eric_Boyer
If an official also sees that split second, it is a flag, or certainly could be. We are talking about a rule based on a judgement call.
But you are right, I don't know.
Of course if you flip that coin over it will say you don't know either.
A good official does not call something in a split second, especially in football, where most penalties do not stop play. A good official lets the play happen. Then decides if it had an effect.
In basketball the definition of a foul is: illegal contact that hinders normal offensive or defensive movement. So by rule, you may have something that is technically a foul, but it did not hender and is therefore incidental contact.