Originally Posted by joseephuss
Unless they changed the rule, I understood that upon review you can move the spot of the ball and say the ruling was overturned. It is independent of whether after re-spotting the ball if the play results in a first down or not.
I agree, I thought Murray got the first down on the 3rd down run. It was a bad spot and then another poor spot on 4th down.
See, I could have sworn that the ball had to be moved enough to flip turnover on downs or create a turnover on downs.
I just don't know how you move the ball, allow a team to retain their timeout and possibly get the bonus challenge if they were ruled short and then determined to be short but by a lesser degree after replay.
In such a case the only way a team would lose that challenge is if there was no way to see where the spot occurred or the replay clearly shows that the initial spot was 100% accurate. Inches are difference makers so if you're 3 inches short and the ref rules that you should get 2 of those inches back.......what has changed?
I guess what I am saying is, the ball could probably be moved on every single challenge to some small degree one way or the other if it came to it.
If that's the case, the offense essentially risks nothing to challenge which is a crucial component to the challenge.