2010 Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List

Discussion in 'Draft Zone' started by cowboyjoe, May 8, 2010.

  1. cowboyjoe

    cowboyjoe Well-Known Member

    28,203 Messages
    247 Likes Received
    2010 Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List
    Courtesy of the Rotary Lombardi Award

    HOUSTON – The Rotary Lombardi Award Committee has released the preliminary watch list for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award.

    Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors or by being named to their respective all-conference first team as selected by the conference’s head coaches. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2010 season in order to identify those players who have been selected as pre-season honors candidates.

    While the Watch List highlights those players who have already received national recognition, any Division 1 player who meets the requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee. This committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1-A head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

    The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 Semifinalists for 2010.

    Last year’s Rotary Lombardi Award winner, Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska) was picked up by the Detroit Lions and Finalist Gerald McCoy (OU) by Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the First Round of the NFL Draft.

    The 41st Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on December 7- 8, 2010 at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston, Texas. For more information on the two-day schedule of events, please visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org.

    Sam Acho DE Texas HM all-Big 12, 10 sacks and 10 tackles for a loss (TFL)
    Pierre Allen DE Nebraska Started all 14 games at DE, 51 tackles and five sacks
    Marvin Austin DT UNC Second team all-ACC, 42 tackles and 4 sacks
    Akeem Ayers LB UCLA Dynamic play maker, HM all-Pac 10, 3 Def. TDs & 14.5 TFL
    Allen Bailey DT/DEMiami First team all-ACC, 4th in ACC in sacks per game
    Jeff Battipaglia OT Navy Started all 13 games - led Navy rush attack to #4 ranking
    Jeremy Beal DE Oklahoma Hendricks Award finalist, Third team All-American - 11 sacks
    Chase Beeler C Stanford Second team all-Pac 10 selection for 8-5 Cardinal
    Nick Bellore LB Cent. Mich. First team all-MAC, 102 tackles and 7 tackles for a loss
    Broderick Binns DE Iowa Honorable mention all-Big Ten, 6.5 sacks and 10 TFL
    Clint Boling OT Georgia Second team all-SEC selection at tackle
    Justin Boren G Ohio State First team all-Big Ten guard (media)/Second team (coaches)

    Chris Borland LB Wisconsin Big Ten Freshman of the Year, HM all-Big Ten
    Da’Quan Bowers DE Clemson Projected to be #1 ranked DE in 2011 Draft, 3 sacks in 2009
    Vontaze Burfict LB Ariz. State Sun Devils’ Human Highlight reel, Pac 10 Def. Freshman of the Year
    Marcus Cannon OT TCU First team All-MWC - didn’t allow one sack in 2009
    Tank Carder LB TCU Second team all-MWC, 89 tackles and 10 TFL
    Gabe Carimi OT Wisconsin First team all-Big Ten tackle (media)/Second team (coaches)
    James Carpenter OT Alabama Started all 14 games at left tackle for national champions
    Bruce Carter LB UNC Second team all-ACC, led the nation with 5 blocked kicks
    Jurrell Casey DT USC Honorable mention all-Pac 10, 4.5 sacks and 9 TFL
    Anthony Castonzo OT Boston Col. First team all-ACC at tackle in 2009
    Ugo Chinasa DE Ok. State Honorable mention all-Big 12, 6.5 sacks and 10 TFL
    Adrian Clayborn DE Iowa 2010 Orange Bowl Defensive MVP, First team all-Big 10

    Wayne Daniels DE TCU Second team all-MWC, 5.5 sacks and 9 TFL
    Marcell Dareus DT Alabama 2010 BCS National Championship Game Def. MVP
    Chris Galippo LB USC Honorable mention all-Pac 10, 70 tackles and 8 TFL
    Cameron HeywardDT/DE Ohio State Second team all-Big Ten, led Buckeyes with 7.5 sacks
    Mark Herzlich LB Boston Col Sat out 2009 following cancer treatments - all-ACC in 2008
    Dont’a Hightower LB Alabama Injured in 2009 - played in only 4 games
    Ross Homan LB Ohio State Second team all-Big 10 (media and coaches)
    Justin Houston DE Georgia Second team all-SEC, 7.5 sacks and 15 TFLs (led team)
    Rodney Hudson G Fl. State First team all-ACC, Awarded ACC Jacobs Trophy (best blocker)
    Nate Irving LB NC State Injured in 2009, missed the entire season
    Ethan Johnson DE Notre Dame Led the Irish with 4 sacks, moves out to DE in 2010
    Greg Jones LB Mich. State First team all-Big Ten after 154 tackle season (3rd in nation)
    Lance Kendricks TE Wisconsin 29 receptions for 356 yards and 3 TDs,
    Ryan Kerrigan DE Purdue First team all-Big Ten (media)/Second team (coaches) - 13 sacks

    Jake Kirkpatrick C TCU One of six finalists for Rimington Trophy (best center) in 2009
    Luke Kuechly LB Boston Col. ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year, First team all-ACC
    Travis Lewis LB Oklahoma First team All-Big 12, 109 tackles and 9.5 TFL
    Jonathan Martin OT Stanford As freshman, started 11 games, leading way for Toby Gerhart
    Casey Matthews LB Oregon Second team all-Pac 10, second on team with 81 tackles
    Cliff Matthews DE South Car. Second team all-SEC, 7 sacks & 10 TFL, named captain as junior
    Marcus McGraw LB Houston Fifth in the nation with 156 tackles (11.1 per game)
    Pernell McPhee DE Miss. State Second team all-SEC in 2009, first year in SEC

Share This Page