1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

Article: FWST - THEN & NOW | GLEN TITENSOR

Discussion in 'History Zone' started by MichaelWinicki, Dec 29, 2004.

1. MichaelWinicki

MichaelWinicki "You want some?" Staff Member

32,454 Messages
    3,019 Likes Received
    Ex-guard pursuing a different course after football
    By Carlos Mendez
    Star-Telegram Staff Writer

It's not uncommon for life after football to include golf. Glen Titensor's life in golf is because of football.

The former Cowboys guard is owner of Timbercreek Golf Center in Lewisville, the result of a fling with the sport that began during his days with one of the most popular teams in the NFL.

"I've always been interested in golf, but I started playing when I first got to the Cowboys," he said. "We usually participated in a lot of charity golf tournaments."

Titensor has owned the golf club since 1993, but his days don't include playing much golf. He manages the facility and five employees, sometimes winding up at work even when he could have a day off.

"I kind of come here every day to keep a close eye on it," he said. "There's a lot of work involved."

Titensor did not have plans for a career in golf after his final season with the Cowboys in 1988. He opted to help his brother, a dentist, in his lab.

"I dabbled in it for a year and a half right after I retired," he said. "It wasn't bad. It just wasn't too exciting for me."

He bought the property for the golf club as an investment, he said.

"I put the golf range on there not only to help pay the property taxes, but also to provide income," Titensor said.

It also provides a tie to his days with the Cowboys. He said former teammates frequently visit the club, and he never grows tired of visits from old friends.

"The thing I miss about my Cowboys days is the camaraderie I had with my teammates," he said. "That's why it's so good to see them come through here now and then."