Bad call in Super Bowl

Discussion in 'NFL Zone' started by Reverend Conehead, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. erod

    erod Well-Known Member

    16,082 Messages
    17,461 Likes Received
    There was a receiver there, so it doesn't have to reach the line of scrimmage. That's the rule.

    The line of scrimmage comes into the play when the QB is throwing the ball away to no one outside the pocket.
     
  2. KevinU

    KevinU Active Member

    526 Messages
    135 Likes Received
    I believe there was a TE within a couple yards of the imcompletion.
     
  3. morasp

    morasp Well-Known Member

    3,441 Messages
    968 Likes Received
    The bad call was the non PI call on Earl Thomas towards the end of the second quarter. At that point the Broncos were in the game and it was a real momentum killer. Lest you think they were letting the DBs play and calling it the same both ways, Denver did get called for PI in the end zone on a third and goal which gave the Seahawks a touchdown instead of another field goal.
     
  4. KB1122

    KB1122 Well-Known Member

    2,015 Messages
    630 Likes Received
    Intentional grounding is one of those penalties that needs simplifying. If he's out of the box, in the box, yada yada yada. There are too many rules that are too conditional to the situation. Either he threw it to avoid a sack or he didn't.
     
  5. Ntegrase96

    Ntegrase96 Well-Known Member

    5,858 Messages
    5,228 Likes Received

    Apologies for the low quality, but here's the screen grab.

    Intended receiver, Kellen Davis marked.
    [​IMG]


    It's really tough to synchronize when the ball lands with my choppy work connection, so the ball is still in the air. Since the quality is poor, I put a yellow dot under the football.

    It actually lands right on the 45 yard marker. Kellen Davis ends up closer to the line of scrimmage, and the ball lands about 2 yards from him before bouncing into his hands.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Beast_from_East

    Beast_from_East Well-Known Member

    19,913 Messages
    9,220 Likes Received
    Nice work...........clearly the receiver is close enough to the ball to avoid a flag.
     
  7. dexternjack

    dexternjack World Traveler

    12,461 Messages
    7,521 Likes Received

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Ntegrase96

    Ntegrase96 Well-Known Member

    5,858 Messages
    5,228 Likes Received
    I thought that happened when it was still 15-0, but it was actually 22-0 at that time. Still they missed the call.

    If Earl Thomas had've been there already, then he's entitled to that space, but he meets Julius Thomas there and impedes him, not even playing the ball. Missed call there.

    Don't think it would've affected the game that much, but you cannot miss something that obvious. Honestly, I thought it was more blatant than the one called on Denver that led to the TD.
     
  9. GloryDaysRBack

    GloryDaysRBack Well-Known Member

    11,969 Messages
    4,078 Likes Received
    Excuse makers never cease to amaze me.

    Broncos lose by 35 points and there are people here talking about bad calls, lolol. Get real
     
    theSHOW and casmith07 like this.
  10. ChldsPlay

    ChldsPlay Well-Known Member

    10,089 Messages
    2,991 Likes Received
    A lot of replays of Seattle's coverage included holding and illegal contact. Not sure if the same is true of Denver because coverage wasn't much of an issue really and they didn't show much.
     
  11. Reverend Conehead

    Reverend Conehead Well-Known Member

    2,422 Messages
    1,602 Likes Received
    What part of "it wouldn't have affected the outcome of the game" did you not understand? No one's making excuses for the Broncos. We're just talking about one play in the game and whether it should have been grounding.


    Thanks for the screen shot. This clears it up. I stand corrected. It was a good non-call after all. At the time, I didn't think a receiver was close enough, but clearly one was.
     
  12. Beast_from_East

    Beast_from_East Well-Known Member

    19,913 Messages
    9,220 Likes Received
    Denver looked intimidated, maybe being physical with them got in their heads.
     
  13. morasp

    morasp Well-Known Member

    3,441 Messages
    968 Likes Received
    Exactly, those two plays add up to an 11 point swing. Three points instead of seven for Seattle and possibly seven points for Denver. 18-7 would have been a lot more manageable going into the third quarter.
     
  14. DFWJC

    DFWJC Well-Known Member

    35,795 Messages
    16,919 Likes Received
    Yeah, he was close enough.
    Good stuff.
     
  15. jimmy40

    jimmy40 Well-Known Member

    16,227 Messages
    979 Likes Received
    if the receiver would have made any effort whatsoever to fight through the contact he probably would have gotten the call.
     
  16. CowboysYanksLakers

    CowboysYanksLakers Well-Known Member

    5,737 Messages
    1,543 Likes Received
    Well explained...
     
  17. casmith07

    casmith07 Attorney-at-Zone

    30,565 Messages
    6,672 Likes Received
    Doesn't matter if he was close or not, Wilson was out of the pocket.
     
  18. Picksix

    Picksix A Work in Progress

    5,197 Messages
    1,079 Likes Received
    Right, but if there hadn't been a receiver close enough, it would have been grounding, because it didn't get back to the LOS.
     

Share This Page