1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

Classic Walt Garrison stories! A must for any Cowboys fan.

Discussion in 'History Zone' started by TruBlueCowboy, Feb 21, 2005.

1. TruBlueCowboy

TruBlueCowboy New Member

7,301 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    I just read Garrison's autobiography and hot damn is that book a blast! Probably my favorite Cowboys read ever. I thought I'd post some of my favorite stories from his book. Feel free to add your own. The man is quite the storyteller. I'll add more as my lazy fingers get more energy. :)

Walt Garrison on how cool Don Meredith was:

Meredith was like nobody else they ever had at Dallas. Or probably ever will. In a word, Joe Don was cool. When I was a rookie in 1966, we took a plane ride out of New York after our first play-off game ever. After you're a veteran, you get to sit at the back of the plane. All the steak eaters sit in the front. If you're big-time press you sit in first class with all the coaches and the front-office guys -- Tex Schramm and Gil Brandt and Clint Murchison. The lesser crowd sits in the first two or three rows of coach. Then the rookies take up the next few rows sitting three to a row. The back third of the plane is where the veterans sit and they sit to two to a row. The back is the preferred seating because the players want to sit as far away from the coaches and the press as possible.

Well, we're at the back of the plane. I'm on the aisle and Meredith and (Pete) Gent are sitting in the last row of the plane where they always sit. Joe Don is sitting there drinkin him a beer, smoking a cigarette.

It was snowing like sh!t and this sunuvab!tch takes off and the whole plane shudders. It sounded like a bomb went off. BOOM! They tried climbing again and BOOM!