1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

Cure for Cancer...

Discussion in 'Off-topic Zone' started by HoleInTheRoof, May 4, 2010.

1. HoleInTheRoof

HoleInTheRoof Benched

3,265 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    I've lost family members to cancer, as well as had family members survive cancer. I say that upfront just in case someone gets insulted by this thread.

Now . . . does anyone other than me kind of skeptical about the campaigns to find the cure for cancer? My company, or should I say the company I work as an independent contractor for (I don't own the company afterall) is starting it's annual Relay for Life campaign. We do it every year, and it's a lot of fun as well as being for a good cause.

But I can honestly say that I am starting to think that the whole cancer cure idea is somewhat of a scam. Maybe I'm jaded, but I think our entire medical system is based on treating the sick, rather than curing the sick.

Basically, my very uneducated thoughts on the matter is/are many years and billions of dollars have gone towards the "cure for cancer search" . . . but I've never heard any breakthroughs as to what, if any, progress is being made.

Will cancer be cured in my lifetime (I figure I'll be dead in 30 years, maybe by cancer :D )? Or will my grandkids be participating in Relay for Life campaigns themselves?
  2. MarionBarberThe4th

MarionBarberThe4th Well-Known Member

11,879 Messages
    83 Likes Received
    Maybe I'm jaded, but I think our entire medical system is based on treating the sick, rather than curing the sick.

Youre not wrong.

But ultimately I think theres enough well intentioned people that there will be a cure pretty soon.
  3. zrinkill

zrinkill Diamond surrounded by trash

33,003 Messages
    720 Likes Received

Lost my baby sister to cancer a few months ago ....

And yes I agree with you.

Except that if they did find the cure ..... they would be richer than anyone could possibly imagine.
  4. HoleInTheRoof