1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

DMN Monday Photos

Discussion in 'Artwork Zone' started by LaTunaNostra, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. Eric_Boyer

    Eric_Boyer Well-Known Member

    4,670 Messages
    389 Likes Received
    If my jersey is getting stretched as much as this example shows, my movement is impeded.
  2. blindzebra

    blindzebra Well-Known Member

    9,554 Messages
    852 Likes Received
    How do you know?

    Which way are they moving?

    Is it a run play or a pass play?

    What happened a split second later?

    What you are seeing is, IMO, the moment after impact. Rogers got him with his hands and snapped him back, and that is why the jersey is stretched.
  3. Eric_Boyer

    Eric_Boyer Well-Known Member

    4,670 Messages
    389 Likes Received
    If an official also sees that split second, it is a flag, or certainly could be. We are talking about a rule based on a judgement call.

    But you are right, I don't know.

    Of course if you flip that coin over it will say you don't know either.
  4. guag

    guag Right Kind of Guy

    6,708 Messages
    1,434 Likes Received
    If he was wearing #22 and didn't have the name on the helmet I'd swear that was Emmitt Smith.
  5. blindzebra

    blindzebra Well-Known Member

    9,554 Messages
    852 Likes Received
    A good official does not call something in a split second, especially in football, where most penalties do not stop play. A good official lets the play happen. Then decides if it had an effect.

    In basketball the definition of a foul is: illegal contact that hinders normal offensive or defensive movement. So by rule, you may have something that is technically a foul, but it did not hender and is therefore incidental contact.
  6. Eric_Boyer

    Eric_Boyer Well-Known Member

    4,670 Messages
    389 Likes Received
    I agree. The problem is you deemed the play legal without any clue where the ball is.

    As far as we know a running back just broke wide and the defender is trying to chase but has his jersey grabbed.

  7. blindzebra

    blindzebra Well-Known Member

    9,554 Messages
    852 Likes Received

    But it is legal in a split second. Read the rules that DCB posted, they say illegal contact must immediately stop and the hands must move inside the front of the torso. So even if the grab was illegal, if he released the jersey a split second later, there is no penalty.

    The way the NFL officials interprete the rules, that play is legal, unless he pulls, encircles, or redirects the defenders movement.
  8. boysfanindc

    boysfanindc Well-Known Member Zone Supporter

    3,087 Messages
    498 Likes Received
    It looks like the only way he is impeading his movement is preventing him from falling on his ***.

Share This Page