1. SPORGWIRE.com
    The Sports Newswire
    SPORGWIRE provides you with an easy way to keep up with the latest sports news,
    rumors, reviews, videos and more from sports sites all over the internet!
    Follow your favorite teams and sports leagues and
    the SPORGWIRE home page becomes your personal sports news site for the internet!
    Dismiss Notice

Mike Shanahan not happy with officials on touched punt ruling

Discussion in 'Fan Zone' started by Cebrin, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. Boyzmamacita

    Boyzmamacita CowBabe Up!!! Zone Supporter

    16,643 Messages
    6,279 Likes Received
    He gave new meaning to "Redskin" last night.:p:cool:
     
    Cebrin likes this.
  2. Boyzmamacita

    Boyzmamacita CowBabe Up!!! Zone Supporter

    16,643 Messages
    6,279 Likes Received
    What about the fact that the Redskins player was out of bounds, pushed Webb into the ball then came back inbounds? Isn't there a penalty for that?
     
    dallasdave likes this.
  3. Venger

    Venger Well-Known Member

    2,653 Messages
    779 Likes Received
    Okay HERE'S THE DEAL PEOPLE - the rule is there so we don't get constant attempts to block receiving team players into the ball. Think it's not a big deal? Every cover player will lock up with a receiving team player and drive them at any ball that isn't fair caught. If the ball is just bouncing around, why not try and push a player into it? Trust me, they WILL.

    I'm fine with the rule and the result.
     
  4. gimmesix

    gimmesix Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life

    14,426 Messages
    4,699 Likes Received
    Yeah, for once I came away feeling like Dallas was actually the beneficiary of a couple of calls and noncalls.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday Rising Star

    12,265 Messages
    2,257 Likes Received
    Yes he was, it happened right in front of our section and you could clearly see the Redskins player block our guy into the ball.
     
  6. StarBoyz83

    StarBoyz83 Well-Known Member

    9,602 Messages
    4,099 Likes Received
    Nah he was just standing there he didnt move back. The ball came and hit him.
     
  7. Hoofbite

    Hoofbite Well-Known Member

    35,071 Messages
    4,346 Likes Received
    It also happened on TV. Multiple times in fact because of replays.
     
  8. StylisticS

    StylisticS Well-Known Member

    11,466 Messages
    2,223 Likes Received
    No it didn't. Look at it again. He clearly was pushed back into the ball. It was clear as day and even the redskins fans I was around said it was the right call. The redskin player was out of bounds to when he pushed him back into the ball.
     
  9. NIBGoldenchild

    NIBGoldenchild Well-Known Member

    1,490 Messages
    274 Likes Received
    I read a retweet on twitter from someone who claims to be an official. The guy said the ref misinterpreted the call because in the rule it stays the player is supposed to be passive, and only if the player is passive is he not at fault for touching the ball. That cowboys player was engaged with a redskins, that's not being passive.

    The rule was meant to prevent a guy not doing anything from being shoved into the ball, not a player actively trying to block the opposition.

    It was a bad call, but it wouldn't have mattered if they got it right anyway. We weren't winning that game last night.
     
  10. ChldsPlay

    ChldsPlay Well-Known Member

    9,978 Messages
    2,893 Likes Received
    He was not engaged until the Redskin pushed him. He was not actively blocking, therefore he was passive.
     
    Muhast likes this.
  11. dallasdave

    dallasdave Well-Known Member

    18,719 Messages
    41,439 Likes Received
    Good point.
     
  12. dallasdave

    dallasdave Well-Known Member

    18,719 Messages
    41,439 Likes Received
    Mike Shanahan's head got so red on the sideline, he looked like a hemirod.
     
  13. Hoofbite

    Hoofbite Well-Known Member

    35,071 Messages
    4,346 Likes Received
    If you aren't engaged, you're automatically passive?
     
  14. rat2k8

    rat2k8 Well-Known Member

    4,520 Messages
    3,870 Likes Received
    What are you guys watching? A player was pushed backwards into the ball. Correct call.
     
  15. rat2k8

    rat2k8 Well-Known Member

    4,520 Messages
    3,870 Likes Received
    Use your PVR. Correct call on field was made.
     
  16. ChldsPlay

    ChldsPlay Well-Known Member

    9,978 Messages
    2,893 Likes Received
    In the context of blocking, yes. He wasn't engaged or making an aggressive move to block anyone.
     

Share This Page