1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

NFL.COM Official Review w/ Mike Pereira - 2 plays

Discussion in 'Artwork Zone' started by tchoice23, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. tchoice23

    tchoice23 New Member

    418 Messages
    0 Likes Received
  2. theogt

    theogt Surrealist Zone Supporter

    43,931 Messages
    992 Likes Received
    Why would he continually say it "might have made a difference" if he concedes that he would have put the tip of the ball to the tip of the beak and the first down marker was several inches past the beak. He should have come out and said he would have moved it but it still wouldn't have been a first down.
  3. tchoice23

    tchoice23 New Member

    418 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    cause he is an idiot?:grrr:
  4. LeonDixson

    LeonDixson Illegitimi non carborundum

    9,654 Messages
    55 Likes Received
    On the McCoy challenge I think they should have actually moved the ball further back after the review. He actually got a favorable spot if you ask me.
  5. Bluestang

    Bluestang Well-Known Member

    5,513 Messages
    716 Likes Received

    I guess he's trying to say that if the ball was spotted closer to that tip of the logo it could have been a first down, but by judging where the sticks were at it would be really close.

    Personally I think if the call was wrong than this is a wash on the non PI call on Samuel on RW. That hold was pretty blantant and if Samuel doesn't grab RW entire arm he makes the catch and it's TD. We can all agree the officiating was poor on both sides of the ball and that both sides got calls their way all night so to blame the refs is plain ********.
  6. theogt

    theogt Surrealist Zone Supporter

    43,931 Messages
    992 Likes Received
    It was absolutely not a first down, so it doesn't matter. HD pictures confiirm.
  7. illhurtya

    illhurtya Member

    95 Messages
    52 Likes Received
    I think what he was trying to say was that yes the spot should have been changed but it probably wouldn't have been a first down anyway, however it would not have cost the Eagles a timeout. But I'm only speculating.
  8. adbutcher

    adbutcher K9NME

    10,638 Messages
    300 Likes Received
    :hammer:
  9. Cowboys22

    Cowboys22 Well-Known Member

    3,613 Messages
    375 Likes Received
    Everyone keeps talking about moving the ball to the tip of the beak but I can't see anything that proves he got the ball that far. The camera is not directly across from the play so there is distortion to to camera angle. That fact right there should preclude movement of the ball. Then there is the fact that you cannot see his left arm. His left wrist or elbow could have hit the ground before he lunged forward. I think there were right in not moving the ball because nonr of the video shows undisputable proof where the ball should be. Therefor it has to stay where they put it on the field.
  10. Cowboys22

    Cowboys22 Well-Known Member

    3,613 Messages
    375 Likes Received
    Yes, it would still have cost them a timeout. Even if they moved the ball, if it wasn't a first down, the eagles would have lost the challenge. I have seen that exact scenario in another game. It didn't make much sense to me but that is the rule. When you challenge it, you are saying it should be a first down. If it isn't, you lose the challenge.
  11. SMCowboy

    SMCowboy Active Member

    1,407 Messages
    1 Likes Received
    He said at the beginning that it appeared that the the first down sticks were a few inches past the beak. But, he was right not to say with absolute certainty that it wouldn't have been a first down, the pictures do seem to indicate it wouldn't have been, and he probably could have and maybe should have stated one more time, that it doesn't appear that it would have been a first down still. But without him actually spotting the ball exactly where he was going to, no one can say for 100% put your life on it, that it wouldn't have been a first down.
  12. Doomsday101

    Doomsday101 Well-Known Member

    77,014 Messages
    2,802 Likes Received
    I agree. His own momentum took him back a good yard to 2 yards shy of the 1st before James touched him.
  13. JBell523

    JBell523 That's my Quarterback

    3,264 Messages
    482 Likes Received
    I refuse to watch these clips anymore.

    Has Pereira ever flat out admitted that a ref just simply f'ed up before?



    He always defends them no matter how ridiculous the call is it seems.
  14. CowboyMike

    CowboyMike Stay Thirsty, My Friends

    5,199 Messages
    95 Likes Received
    This segment is always useless. They never address officials actually missing a call, and Pereira never straight out admits "we were wrong." Why don't they address the no PI call on Roy Williams? Or how about the phantom PI on Jason Witten? Or the 'illegal contact' on Mike Jenkins?

    I'm happy he's retiring after this season. I hope the person that replaces him ends up being more accountable for their mistakes. I'd like to see Mike Carey or Ed Hochuli as VP of officiating.
  15. Hoofbite

    Hoofbite Well-Known Member

    32,528 Messages
    2,215 Likes Received
    So what happens when there is a spot challenge that doesn't involve the team getting a 1st down or not?

    Lets say its 4th and inches and the defense wants to challenge that the 3rd down play should have been downed earlier resulting in 4th and 1. What happens then if the challenge is successful?

    Defense wins the challenge and the ball is moved but they are still charged a timeout?
  16. tchoice23

    tchoice23 New Member

    418 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    Not challenge-able UNLESS they challenge him being out of bounds before the spot.
  17. SMCowboy

    SMCowboy Active Member

    1,407 Messages
    1 Likes Received
    I do not understand all the intracasies of this. But, I HAVE seen in several games before, where a team challenges the spot of the ball, and the officials do move the ball but don't give the team the first down, and the team IS still charged a timeout.
  18. Hoofbite

    Hoofbite Well-Known Member

    32,528 Messages
    2,215 Likes Received
    Defenses can't challenge a spot unless it involves being out of bounds?
  19. SMCowboy

    SMCowboy Active Member

    1,407 Messages
    1 Likes Received
    According to the NFL replay rules, you can only challenge spot of the ball under two scenarios:
    #1.) If it was a first down or not.
    #2.) If a player was out of bounds or not.

    Plays it specifically says can not be challenged.
    #1.) Spot of the ball not involving first down, endzone or out of bounds.
    #2.) Down by contact not involving a fumble.
  20. Hoofbite

    Hoofbite Well-Known Member

    32,528 Messages
    2,215 Likes Received
    Do you have a link to the rule book? I've looked online and can only find bits and pieces of it.

Share This Page