1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

News: Patriots: Can't measure toughness: Kyle Wilber

Discussion in 'News Zone' started by Angus, May 6, 2012.

1. Angus

Angus Active Member

5,064 Messages
    1 Likes Received
    After explaining how he worked both as a defensive end and outside linebacker for the Demon Deacons, even dropping into coverage “about 75 percent of the time” in the latter situation, Wilber was asked what he would do if he wasn’t playing football.

“I really want to work with kids,” said Wilber, who is projected as a mid-round pick. “The reason I majored in sociology and communications at Wake Forest was because right after I graduated I contacted the Winston-Salem community trying to help kids with gang intervention and prevention. I’m on the student-athlete advisory committee. We help out at the children’s home, a homeless shelter, we have a program called Project Desk, where we build desks for children in the Winston-Salem community. So, I really want to do something with kids.”

An impressive response from a 22-year-old who is basically in the middle of the most important interviews of his life at the Combine. But then Wilber was asked why he felt so strongly about helping kids and soon peeled back some layers that explain exactly where he gets his drive to succeed.

Read more: http://blog.patriots.com/author/pperillo/

Scroll down
  2. Woods

Woods Active Member

12,375 Messages
    11 Likes Received
    “Growing up I had a rough childhood. I was born in Orlando and me and mother moved to Chicago. I never knew my biological father,” Wilber began. “When I was 6 or 7 my mother left me and my sister to my aunt, and then my stepfather worked out a deal with my aunt to take custody of me. My mother came back into my life about a year or two later and I was back and forth with my stepfather and my mother.