1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

News: Sturm: Xs & Os - Spencer vs. Caroline

Discussion in 'News Zone' started by Crown Royal, Oct 25, 2012.

1. Crown Royal

Crown Royal Insulin Beware

10,119 Messages
    519 Likes Received
    This week, I have been asked by a few of you to look at the great game that Anthony Spencer had on Sunday as he returned from an injury that had taken him out of the last few games. He had not played since the 3rd game of the season against Tampa Bay and had been dealing with a strained pectoral injury. I am no doctor, but someone who plays on the edge and makes tackles for a living is really going to need those chest muscles on Sunday, so there was plenty of concern that this might be an issue for quite a while.

Very few Cowboys have such a polarizing effect on fans as Spencer does. Fans want to find a proper bookend for DeMarcus Ware and look at Spencer as the baseline for the position who could be easily upgraded. I remember calls last year that he simply be allowed to leave as a free agent and that we will just plug in Victor Butler or anyone and would be just fine. The fact that he was (properly) franchised by the Cowboys last spring was enough to cause unrest in many corners of the fandom because surely a player like that isn't worth $8 million dollars.

To me, not only is he worth $8 million, but I have been saying for quite a while that I am fine with them offering a contract like Doug Free's (4 years, $32 million) to Spencer and now only wonder if it would be accepted by Spencer and his agent, Jordan Woy. Here are a few of the essays I have written on the Spencer situation from last winter here and then another one here where I was suggesting the franchise tag.

Read more at:

http://sturminator.blogspot.ca/2012/10/xs-and-os-spencer-vs-carolina.html
  2. Crown Royal

10,119 Messages
    519 Likes Received