1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

Sturm's take on T. Smith today....(with video)

Discussion in 'Draft Zone' started by newlander, Apr 27, 2011.

1. newlander

newlander Well-Known Member

8,205 Messages
    123 Likes Received
  2. Gaede

Gaede Well-Known Member

8,065 Messages
    956 Likes Received
    I've come around on Smith. Still not my favourite tackle, but as long as we're getting someone (besides Solder) for the line, I'm happy. I can accept the long term risks because he is already a very good tackle
  3. Gaede

Gaede Well-Known Member

8,065 Messages
    956 Likes Received
    Although, watching those clips really does remind me why I didn't like him in the first place. I love his pass blocking, and his strength once he does lock on, but when he's pulling and moving to the second level he seems to always miss his guy or just barely get him. I'm no oline expert, for sure, but he does seem a little lost in space to me
  4. newlander

newlander Well-Known Member

8,205 Messages
    123 Likes Received
    ALL the experts love this guy but....yeah, he gets real lost at the second level at times and also overpowered a few times at the point of attack. NERVOUS now for first time.
  5. CaptainAmerica

CaptainAmerica Active Member

5,017 Messages
    6 Likes Received
    It's ridiculous for us to pick a RT with the #9 pick in the entire draft!

We just picked a RT last year who we seem to like. A guy who was a blue chip recruit in High School and had a ton of college starts at Notre Dame. He's now been in our program for one full year and he's learning, maturing and filling out and showing promise. There is nothing so far that I have read to indicate he won't be able to play RT in the NFL.

The league is full of OL picked in the mid to low rounds and even undrafted FAs. Some of the very best OL we have ever had in our franchise history have been low round, UFA type players.