Cajun Fried Turkey?

CouchCoach

Staff member
Reaction score
CowboysZone ULTIMATE Fan
Don't know if any are considering this but I've been doing this since 1985 when I lived in Baton Rouge and have passed this onto at least a dozen people that use this recipe that was passed to me and dates back to 1955 when the Dad of the guy that gave it to me began this ritual on turkey hunts with no electricity but they did have propane.

The turkey needs to be out of the fridge for 30 minutes to allow the injected marinade to penetrate the meat. It needs to be injected all over, including the back, if you're planning on Fried Turkey/Andouille gumbo and why wouldn't you? That's the best reason to fry turkeys.

1 stick of salted butter
2 tsp Garlic juice
2 tsp Onion juice
2 tbls of Worcestershire, I only use Lea & Perrin, they created it
2 tbls of La. Hot Sauce, I prefer Crystal but any La. one will do but Tabasco doesn't work as well
1 cup of dry white wine

Cook this down to reduce the volume and burn the alcohol off for about 10 minutes and then let completely cool to inject the bird and let it rest in the fridge overnight (it will be tired from all of the acupuncture). After you've injected it, cover it with Tony Chachare's inside and out and loosely cover with foil.

Get the oil to 375, depending on how cold the bird is, but the goal is to not drop below 350 and fry feet pointing up at an angle for 3.5 minutes per pound. That skin is one of the greatest mouthgasms I ever had.

You want a "back the hell off, this is really good stock"? Get as much meat off the bird, tear it down and break the larger bones and simmer that for 5-6 hours and strain that and refrigerate for 4 hours to skim the fat off the top. Now, you are ready for some gumbo. And you know that fat you just skimmed off the stock, use that mixed with oil to start your roux.