Cris Carter, Darrell Green among HoF Finalists

Discussion in 'NFL Zone' started by Mavs Man, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. Mavs Man

    Mavs Man All outta bubble gum

    4,668 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    Cris Carter, Darrell Green finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

    January 15, 2008

    CANTON, Ohio (AP) -- Cris Carter and Darrell Green are finalists in balloting for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility.

    Carter, a star wide receiver for the Eagles and Vikings, and Redskins cornerback Green are among 17 finalists who will be considered for election on Feb. 2, 2008, the day before the Super Bowl.

    Carter spent 1987-89 with Philadelphia, then 1990-2001 with Minnesota before ending his career with a season as a Dolphin. In 2000, he became the second player in NFL history to catch 1,000 career passes, behind only Jerry Rice. He finished his career with 1,101 receptions, second on the all-time list; had 130 TD catches, also second; and gained 1,000 yards receiving in eight straight seasons. Carter was a member of the NFL's 1990s all-decade team.

    Green spent all 20 of his seasons in Washington, tying a league record with one team, and played 295 games after being a first-round draft pick in 1983. He holds the NFL mark with at least one interception in 19 consecutive seasons and made 54 interceptions overall for 621 yards and six TDs. Considered one of the best shutdown cornerbacks in football, he also was one of the league's fastest players and a first-rate punt returner. Green also was on the NFL's 1990s team.

    The other finalists, of which a minimum of four candidates and a maximum of seven can be chosen, are 12 modern-era players. They are defensive ends Fred Dean and Richard Dent; linebackers Randy Gradishar, Derrick Thomas and Andre Tippett; guards Russ Grimm, Bob Kuechenberg and Randall McDaniel; punter Ray Guy; wide receivers Art Monk and Andre Reed; and tackle Gary Zimmerman.

    The contributor finalist is former commissioner Paul Tagliabue. The Senior Committee nominees, announced last August, are Chicago Cardinals back Marshall Goldberg and Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Emmitt Thomas.

    To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum of 80 percent of the 44 votes.

Share This Page