1. Welcome to CowboysZone!  Join us!  Come on!  You know you want to!

News: DMN: Luksa: Strange but true tales from Cowboys camps

Discussion in 'News Zone' started by Cowgal, Aug 6, 2004.

1. Cowgal

Cowgal Member

303 Messages
    1 Likes Received
    Frank Luksa: Strange but true tales from Cowboys camps

11:18 AM CDT on Friday, August 6, 2004

I was a Cowboys beat writer from Fort Worth in a previous life, and one day I engaged Bob Hayes in a training camp interview that veered in an unexpected direction. Steve Perkins was my witness to what Hayes said and even if the former Dallas scribe is dead, he later accurately reprised the scene in a book.

This was during the Duane Thomas holdout spectacular. Thomas charged that his contract problem with the Cowboys was black-white related, an issue that inflamed intense passion during the 1960s. Hayes seemed a logical source to address the subject of bias by the front office and coach Tom Landry, whom Duane called “plastic man…no man at all."

We visited Hayes in his dormitory room, a privilege long since rescinded, while he nursed a knee bruise. Hayes said there was no substance to the charge that Landry or anyone else was biased. Hayes had reason to squawk since during a brief period the previous season, Landry had instituted performance levels at every position and Hayes lost his starting job to Dennis Homan, a soon-discarded No. 1 draft choice.

“That cat is a good coach and good man,’’ Hayes said of Landry. “I had to pay off some people who wanted to bomb his house last year.’’

You did what?

Hayes said unnamed callers told him they were upset that Homan was playing ahead of him and decided to retaliate against Landry and team president Tex Schramm. And even him if he didn’t cooperate.

“They said, ‘You’re either with us or against us? You with them? Maybe we bomb your house first. Guess you don’t need no more money. Suppose we grab your baby, then maybe we get some money.’ ’’