1. Are you a gamer? Come join us at GameNotOver.com
    If you are a gamer, then GameNotOver is your new home! Whether you are a PC, PlayStation, Xbox, Nintendo, mobile or web gamer, you will find other gamers to talk with on GameNotOver where you can get help, share reviews of the latest games and gaming technology or even wax nostalgic over the gaming days of old. Come join us and help us grow GameNotOver into a wonderful community for gamers!
    Dismiss Notice

Twitter: Mike Peirera believes Cruz TD catch was incomplete

Discussion in 'Fan Zone' started by blindzebra, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. blindzebra

    blindzebra Well-Known Member

    10,396 Messages
    1,912 Likes Received
     
    mullet and koolaid like this.
  2. jimnabby

    jimnabby Well-Known Member Zone Supporter

    5,773 Messages
    2,801 Likes Received
    I was screaming about that one when it happened. Couldn't believe it didn't get a more thorough review.
     
  3. danielofthesaints

    danielofthesaints Well-Known Member

    1,111 Messages
    204 Likes Received
    So Mike P. contradicts his previous tweet about this matter, interesting.
     
  4. blindzebra

    blindzebra Well-Known Member

    10,396 Messages
    1,912 Likes Received
    He was hit with lots of tweets so he took a second look...and in another tweet he said the league office confirmed it was a bad call.
     
  5. Idgit

    Idgit That sounds really boring Staff Member

    44,159 Messages
    27,091 Likes Received
    Here're the two plays, one after the other.

    The answer to the question at the end of the clip is 'because Cruz plays for the Giants.'

     
  6. whynot

    whynot Well-Known Member

    224 Messages
    265 Likes Received
    Coach can't challenge a scoring play anymore either.
     
  7. Texas_Pete

    Texas_Pete Well-Known Member

    3,319 Messages
    3,460 Likes Received
    That rule should be changed.
     
  8. Ultra Warrior

    Ultra Warrior 6 Million Light-years beyond believability.

    2,324 Messages
    1,214 Likes Received
    The play would have still resulted in a 1st down & goal at the1. ( or less ) Chances are, they were punching it in anyway.
     
  9. Iago33

    Iago33 Well-Known Member

    1,708 Messages
    273 Likes Received
    How does an incomplete pass result in a first down?
     
  10. tupperware

    tupperware A Plastic Container

    7,269 Messages
    93 Likes Received
    Well, it's hard to argue with a former head of officiating, but I thought otherwise.
    NFL really needs to work on the consistency of their calls.
     
  11. Cowboys22

    Cowboys22 Well-Known Member

    5,307 Messages
    2,321 Likes Received
    No, it should have been incomplete. The league did not say he was down before crossing the goal line. He did not complete the catch because the ball came out of his hand went it hit the turf. The rule now it that you must maintain possession of the ball if you go to the ground as part of the play. He did and the ball came out. Incomplete pass.
     
    DCBoysfan likes this.
  12. Vertigo_17

    Vertigo_17 Well-Known Member

    2,277 Messages
    55 Likes Received
    Thought it was incomplete too, surprised that they didn't even appear to review it and I thought all scoring plays were supposed to be reviewed.

    We won the game, guess it doesn't matter but consistency would be nice. Not even going to get into the salsa dancing celebrations...
     
  13. aikemirv

    aikemirv Well-Known Member

    8,081 Messages
    902 Likes Received
    I think there is a difference between CJ and Cruz catches. I dont think Cruz was going to the ground on the catch. I think he got 2 feet established and then was tackled down. I don't think he was necessarily going to the ground with the cacth like CJ was.

    If that was a Cowboy, I would be livid if they had called that incomplete. The blatant hold on the play though.... that should have been called!
     
    bsheeern likes this.
  14. visionary

    visionary Well-Known Member

    11,224 Messages
    6,120 Likes Received

    exactly
    and the giants also had a first down and goal at the1 after the interception, hw did that work out for them?
     
    treykin32 likes this.
  15. JohnsKey19

    JohnsKey19 Well-Known Member

    10,205 Messages
    3,640 Likes Received
    I initially thought he established possession with 2 feet hitting the ground first as the tackle carried him to the ground. Wow,wasn't that a 3rd down? Could've potentially been a huge blown call.
     
  16. Zordon

    Zordon Well-Known Member

    14,062 Messages
    13,786 Likes Received
    these zebras are screwing up something every week.
     
  17. WoodysGirl

    WoodysGirl U.N.I.T.Y Staff Member

    74,053 Messages
    22,258 Likes Received
    Well, it was changed because all scoring plays are supposed to be reviewed.
     
    Texas_Pete likes this.
  18. Cowboys22

    Cowboys22 Well-Known Member

    5,307 Messages
    2,321 Likes Received
    Not true. He was clearly going to the ground before he established possession of the ball. He only got one foot down so he didn't establish possession until his arm hit the ground. Obviously at that point he is heading to the ground and must maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process. The problem with the rule is that it doesn't pass the eye test. It clearly looks like a catch and a TD and most would agree it should be but the rule as in place at the moment says incomplete pass.
     
  19. Cowboys22

    Cowboys22 Well-Known Member

    5,307 Messages
    2,321 Likes Received
    No, the replay officials in the Dallas game botched it. The rule is still the same as evidenced by CJs TD being overturned and the league confirming today that Cruz's TD should have been ruled incomplete.
     
  20. big dog cowboy

    big dog cowboy THE BIG DOG Staff Member

    65,835 Messages
    20,134 Likes Received
    So much for home field advantage.
     

Share This Page