Discussion in 'Fan Zone' started by blindzebra, Sep 11, 2013.
I was screaming about that one when it happened. Couldn't believe it didn't get a more thorough review.
So Mike P. contradicts his previous tweet about this matter, interesting.
He was hit with lots of tweets so he took a second look...and in another tweet he said the league office confirmed it was a bad call.
Here're the two plays, one after the other.
The answer to the question at the end of the clip is 'because Cruz plays for the Giants.'
Coach can't challenge a scoring play anymore either.
That rule should be changed.
The play would have still resulted in a 1st down & goal at the1. ( or less ) Chances are, they were punching it in anyway.
How does an incomplete pass result in a first down?
Well, it's hard to argue with a former head of officiating, but I thought otherwise.
NFL really needs to work on the consistency of their calls.
No, it should have been incomplete. The league did not say he was down before crossing the goal line. He did not complete the catch because the ball came out of his hand went it hit the turf. The rule now it that you must maintain possession of the ball if you go to the ground as part of the play. He did and the ball came out. Incomplete pass.
Thought it was incomplete too, surprised that they didn't even appear to review it and I thought all scoring plays were supposed to be reviewed.
We won the game, guess it doesn't matter but consistency would be nice. Not even going to get into the salsa dancing celebrations...
I think there is a difference between CJ and Cruz catches. I dont think Cruz was going to the ground on the catch. I think he got 2 feet established and then was tackled down. I don't think he was necessarily going to the ground with the cacth like CJ was.
If that was a Cowboy, I would be livid if they had called that incomplete. The blatant hold on the play though.... that should have been called!
and the giants also had a first down and goal at the1 after the interception, hw did that work out for them?
I initially thought he established possession with 2 feet hitting the ground first as the tackle carried him to the ground. Wow,wasn't that a 3rd down? Could've potentially been a huge blown call.
these zebras are screwing up something every week.
Well, it was changed because all scoring plays are supposed to be reviewed.
Not true. He was clearly going to the ground before he established possession of the ball. He only got one foot down so he didn't establish possession until his arm hit the ground. Obviously at that point he is heading to the ground and must maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process. The problem with the rule is that it doesn't pass the eye test. It clearly looks like a catch and a TD and most would agree it should be but the rule as in place at the moment says incomplete pass.
No, the replay officials in the Dallas game botched it. The rule is still the same as evidenced by CJs TD being overturned and the league confirming today that Cruz's TD should have been ruled incomplete.
So much for home field advantage.