Terps' Wujciak on two award watch lists

Discussion in 'Draft Zone' started by cowboyjoe, May 5, 2010.

  1. cowboyjoe

    cowboyjoe Well-Known Member

    28,203 Messages
    247 Likes Received
    Terps' Wujciak on two award watch lists
    StoryComments (0)Share This
    ShareSend this page to your friendsPrintCreate a hardcopy of this pageFont Size:Default font sizeLarger font sizePosted: Tuesday, May 4, 2010 8:28 pm
    By Matt Zenitz, Times Staff Writer | 0 comments

    Maryland linebacker Alex Wujciak can't say his contributions go unnoticed.

    The hard-hitting senior, a two-time All-ACC selection, has been named to the preliminary watch list for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award, which goes to a player who sees action at or near the line of scrimmage (linemen, linebackers or tight ends). He has also been placed on the watch list for the Lott Trophy, given to the country's top impact defensive player.

    The watch lists, intended as reference tools for the awards' selection committees, will be updated and revised throughout the season until 12 semifinalists are decided upon.

    Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh (Rotary Lombardi) and TCU's Jerry Hughes (Lott), both first-round picks in last month's NFL draft, won the awards last year. In fact, nine of the last 10 Rotary Lombardi winners have gone on to become first-round picks. LaMarr Woodley (second round in 2006) was the lone exception.

    Wujciak is ranked by Mel Kiper as the fourth-best middle linebacker in next year's draft class.

    Wujciak has led the Terrapins in tackles each of the last two seasons after missing 2007 with a knee injury. He had 131 tackles last year, and his 10.9 tackles per game ranked eighth nationally. He tallied 10 or more tackles in nine of Maryland's 12 games, including a season-high 17 against Rutgers. He also had 133 tackles in 2008, and his 264 career tackles are first among active players in the ACC.

    Wujciak and fellow linebacker Mark Herzlich (Boston College) are the only two players from the ACC to be placed on the watch list for both awards. Julius Peppers (2001) was the last ACC player to win the Rotary Lombardi Award. No ACC player has been awarded the Lott Trophy since its inception in 2004.

    The Rotary Lombardi Award winner will be named Dec. 8 and the Lott Trophy recipient will be announced Dec. 12.

    Reach staff writer Matt Zenitz at 410-857-7896 or sports@car rollcountytimes.com.

Share This Page