The Horse Collar Rule, What a Joke.

Discussion in 'Fan Zone' started by cwbyfan72, Aug 27, 2005.

  1. cwbyfan72

    cwbyfan72 Well-Known Member

    1,018 Messages
    288 Likes Received
    I 've seen this tackle a number of times in preseason, has not been called once. Last night Skins VS Pitts, clearly a "horse tackle" and no flag. Is this a conspiracy? I swear I will loose my mind if this crap is called on anyone wearing the star this season. I mean if its a freakin rule, inforce that crap!
  2. Champsheart

    Champsheart Active Member

    2,572 Messages
    14 Likes Received
    You can bet the house the first time Roy Williams does it you will see dirty laundry on the field. I have no doubt!

    After all it is the Roy Williams rule!
  3. fiveandcounting

    fiveandcounting Well-Known Member

    1,646 Messages
    67 Likes Received
    I saw it a couple of times in one game, uncalled, and then the commentators explained that it is only a penalty if you pull a guy down from behind. I guess it is kind of like a block from behind, if you are looking at his name you shouldnt do it? Maybe that's what is happening.
  4. dbair1967

    dbair1967 Arch Defender

    30,783 Messages
    1 Likes Received
    it'll only be called if a Cowboy does it...just like the Erik Williams rule was...95% of the time when other teams OL did the facemask thing it was ignored...Michael Irvin pushoff rule was basically the same deal too

    the rule's a was only put it because RW trashed the league's precious little Owens...I actually thought it was fitting sense he had no business being in Philly anyway

  5. CanadaBoys

    CanadaBoys New Member

    818 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    Yup.... i bet this gets missed 99% of the time but everytime RW makes a takle from behind it gets called.... this is gonna be REALLY annoying.
  6. DallasKnight

    DallasKnight New Member

    639 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    You can guarantee that if Roy does it just one time this year, it will get called, and in all the other teams combined, it might be called twice this year. Sorry Roy, you got screwed.
  7. Avery

    Avery The Dog that Saved Charleston

    10,543 Messages
    4,261 Likes Received
    Gotta say two things:

    1. I've seen it called a few times in preseason.
    2. Is a judgement call so it will go unnoticed a few times.
    3. You can bet that the officials will be keeping tabs on RW doing it.

    Still a stupid rule IMO that allows offenses even more oppurtunities.
  8. cwbyfan72

    cwbyfan72 Well-Known Member

    1,018 Messages
    288 Likes Received
    Just want the officials to be consistant. I mean obviously last night, the running back immediatly hopped up and signaled "flag", and then limped off the field. Commentaters saw it as well. Lets face it.....NO ONE LIKES US. I like it that way.
  9. smashmouth

    smashmouth Benched

    1,411 Messages
    0 Likes Received
    OMG I agree. Even when the Cowboys played AZ, I know it happened to JJ once, and someone else in the same game.

    I've seen it time and time again and nothing called.

    I don't neccessarily have a problem with the rule, just call it all the time if you're going to make a big deal out of it.
  10. Sportsbabe

    Sportsbabe Well-Known Member

    9,728 Messages
    4,715 Likes Received
    Agree 100%. These reporters love to all report on the same freaking "story of the week", but yet everyone is oblivious to this.
  11. Sportsbabe

    Sportsbabe Well-Known Member

    9,728 Messages
    4,715 Likes Received
    You can bet, BP is gonna call them on it if they don't get it right and try to screw us.
  12. ghst187

    ghst187 Well-Known Member

    7,321 Messages
    1,365 Likes Received
    yep, i agree with everyone, it'll only get called on us and its crap.

    I'm still peeved that people keep saying roy broke Musa's leg with a horsecollar tackle, that was a FREAKIN JERSEY GRAB AND FALL ON HIS LEG DUE TO A STIFFARM.
  13. MarionBarberThe4th

    MarionBarberThe4th Well-Known Member

    13,637 Messages
    1,557 Likes Received
    Didnt you know? Only when it injures a big star its a flag.

    Not until Owens got hurt did they pay attentuion to it, forget about guys like Tyrone Calico, Musa SMith ect.
  14. NorTex

    NorTex Well-Known Member

    1,078 Messages
    93 Likes Received
    This does not apply to a runner who is in the tackle box or to a quarterback in the pocket.
  15. SilverStarCowboy

    SilverStarCowboy The Actualist

    10,132 Messages
    1,680 Likes Received
    Terrell Owens owns the NFL.
  16. Wheat

    Wheat Philosopher

    2,925 Messages
    4 Likes Received
    heard that there is a good chance he gets a fine for the tackle last night.

    Just to follow up.

Share This Page