Apartment Noise Reduction

alby

Reaction score
I just moved into a new apartment. The street that my bedroom window faces is very loud at night. On top of that, the wall that faces that street is also pretty thin, so it's tough to get a good night's rest.

I've heard about noise reduction curtains and even wall padding, but I have no experience in that stuff. Anybody have any suggestions on curtains, padding, wallpaper, brands...etc?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Edit: Looking for something other than ear plugs. Sometimes it's hard to sleep with those things jammed in your ears and hearing my alarm in the morning is also a problem...

Signals

Suspicious looking stranger
Reaction score
The amount of money you have at you disposal will be a determining factor in the solutions you are looking for. Let me restate my question.

How much money do you have to spend?

Yeagermeister

Reaction score
Just be careful not to make any permanent changes unless you check with the management first. I work for an apartment company and know you could be charged for the repairs when or if you move out.

ROMOSAPIEN9

Proud Grandpa
Reaction score
Exactly what kind of noise is it? If it's traffic noise, you'll get used to it. Maybe even grow to like it.

I'd suggest you buy a box fan and turn it on high before you go to bed. That could/should drown out the other noise.

alby

Reaction score
Great ideas, thanks...I was also hoping for something that I could just go out and buy at a store or something.

not really sure how much money I'm willing to spend.. but just something reasonably priced

FanSince61

Thanks for the memories Dandy
Reaction score
You might try a white noise CD. The CD imitates noises such as fan, air purifiers, rain and etc.

tomson75

Brain Dead Shill
Reaction score
ROMOSAPIEN9;2199865 said:
Exactly what kind of noise is it? If it's traffic noise, you'll get used to it. Maybe even grow to like it.