Fire retardant blanket or fire extinguisher?

Reverend Conehead

Reaction score
I've seen Youtube ads for these fire-smothering blankets. They show someone in their kitchen accidentally starting a fire on their stove and starting to panic. Then a family member just throws that blanket over the fire and it gets easily smothered without the blanket catching on fire. They make that thing with a bunch of fire retardant stuff in it.
I'm an amateur chef. I cook a lot. I'm extremely care to not start a fire. However, I have been planning to get a fire extinguisher to mount on the wall in my kitchen. It's a just in case. I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it. The property management already provides a smoke alarm. However, would one of those fire-smothering blankets serve me better? Has anyone here gotten one?

Jammer

Retired Air Force Guy
Reaction score
CowboysZone ULTIMATE Fan
I've got both. I think the fire blanket works best for small fires on the stove. It's much easier to throw the blanket over the fire and there is a lot less cleanup (none) than the fire extinguisher.

I experimented on fires, but it was in a non-panic and controlled environment and the blanket worked well. I think the blanket is a good idea.

Reverend Conehead

Reaction score
I've got both. I think the fire blanket works best for small fires on the stove. It's much easier to throw the blanket over the fire and there is a lot less cleanup (none) than the fire extinguisher.

I experimented on fires, but it was in a non-panic and controlled environment and the blanket worked well. I think the blanket is a good idea.
Thanks. They're probably both affordable enough that I could get both.

VaqueroTD

Reaction score
and there is a lot less cleanup (none)
This.

Having been through a few fires, home and business, the fire retardent system is where it feels like most of the actual damage occurs. Sprinklers, extinguishers, etc…