Happy, productive Owens: "I'm just getting started"

zrinkill

Cowboy Fan
Reaction score

During their time together with the San Francisco 49ers, Terrell Owens questioned both Jeff Garcia's arm strength and his sexual orientation.

During his two years in Philadelphia, he developed such a laundry list of issues with quarterback Donovan McNabb that the Eagles ultimately paid their star receiver not to play before cutting him loose.

But Owens has only praise for his current passer, Tony Romo, and expresses excitement about what they can do for the explosive Dallas Cowboys as their rapport improves.

"This is just scratching the surface," Owens says. "The sky's the limit for me."

He takes a streak of three consecutive 100-yard receiving games into Sunday's game against the visiting NFC East rival Washington Commanders, and has been at the forefront in helping Dallas to fashion an 8-1 record that is the Cowboys' best mark since 1995.

Owens is pacing the NFC with 855 receiving yards to go with 50 catches and eight touchdowns. He has made conference-high 14 receptions totaling 20 or more yards and averages 17.1 yards per catch.

"Once he gets the ball," Romo says, "he's a load to bring down for any defensive back."

Of greatest importance to Dallas, the 6-3, 218-pound Owens is playing big in big games. He haunted his former Philadelphia teammates with 10 catches for 174 yards and a touchdown to pace the visitors' 38-17 drubbing of the Eagles on Nov. 4.

The score was the 120th of his career, allowing him to join Jerry Rice, Cris Carter and Marvin Harrison as the only receivers to reach that milestone. His next catch will be the 852nd of his career and move him ahead of Irving Fryar into sole possession of 10th place on the career receiving list, 10 behind Jimmy Smith.