help with speech

ajk23az

Through Pain Comes Clarity
Reaction score
can anybody give me any information on the nba salary cap and why or why not they get paid too much. thank you.. i needit for a speech in class....thanks again

trickblue

Not Old School...Old Testament...
Reaction score
air0208 said:
can anybody give me any information on the nba salary cap and why or why not they get paid too much. thank you.. i needit for a speech in class....thanks again

I am no expert... but the thing that bothers me about the NBA salary cap is that a team can offer their OWN free agent anything they want and it increases a "slot" of that amount on the respective team...

In other words... say the cap is 25 million and you have 12 players... your top player is a FA and was making 5 mil a year... the team can offer him 20 mil a year since they had his rights to start... now their cap is 40 mil...

When he eventually leaves or retires that team gets to keep that 40 mil cap... while another team still only has 25 mil to spend... it is weird...

I think I have this right... don't quote me... :D

Yeagermeister

Reaction score
It's referred to as a soft cap. A team can go over the salary cap but they have to pay a luxary tax equal to the amount they are over back to the league. Imagine what Jerry Jones could do with a soft cap :D

WoodysGirl

U.N.I.T.Y
Staff member
Reaction score
CowboysZone ULTIMATE Fan
New York really loves the soft cap....and losing

The luxury tax is a joke. If an owner is willing to pay it, ala Cuban, they'll just cut the league a check it if it gives them a shot at a title.

joseephuss

Reaction score
trickblue said:
I am no expert... but the thing that bothers me about the NBA salary cap is that a team can offer their OWN free agent anything they want and it increases a "slot" of that amount on the respective team...