Investments

Crown Royal

Insulin Beware
Reaction score
I'm a college student, and money just isn't an assett that I have a multitude of. My mother just gave me $1000 in US Savings Bonds, issued in the early nineties, that she got in the divorce of my father.

I could really use this money to pay off some debt (such as that, er, unpaid ticket that is plaguing me....next time I get pulled over, don't expect posts from me for a few days, I might be in Lou Starrett....). However, I would prefer to put this money somewhere to accrue interest and increase value. The current interest rates for the bonds are somewhere around 4%.

Does anyone have a suggestion? I have not yet researched CDs, or what their rates are, and am also considering mutual funds, or even (if I feel like risking it) a cheap stock that might grow in the next few years.

Appreciate the help,

CR

Hoov

Reaction score
Crown Royal said:
I'm a college student, and money just isn't an assett that I have a multitude of. My mother just gave me $1000 in US Savings Bonds, issued in the early nineties, that she got in the divorce of my father.

I could really use this money to pay off some debt (such as that, er, unpaid ticket that is plaguing me....next time I get pulled over, don't expect posts from me for a few days, I might be in Lou Starrett....). However, I would prefer to put this money somewhere to accrue interest and increase value. The current interest rates for the bonds are somewhere around 4%.

Does anyone have a suggestion? I have not yet researched CDs, or what their rates are, and am also considering mutual funds, or even (if I feel like risking it) a cheap stock that might grow in the next few years.

Appreciate the help,

CR