OT: DirecTV, cloudy day, no signal???

Eddie

Reaction score
Sup guys, this is my first time with DirecTV and satellite television.

So is it true about cloudy days and unreceivable signals? I'm ready to flip out.

Cloudy day here in NY. No satellite signal.

Sky better clear by 4pm or else I'm gonna rip the satellite off the roof and toss it in the street. :bang2:

BlueWave

Reaction score
Not just clouds. Check your signal meter. You may have to change transponders to one with a stronger signal. If you cannot find one in the nineties, you will probably have to readjust the actual satalite. It should only go out in downpours, or right before a downpour.

AsthmaField

Outta bounds
Reaction score
BlueWave said:
It should only go out in downpours, or right before a downpour.

Right. It should only go out if the clouds are very, very thick, like just before a storm or during a storm. Usually the signal will go out for 15-30 min. because there just usually aren't storms that last that long.

If the signal is out from it just being overcast... well, then something else entirely is wrong. It isn't the clouds.

Reality

Staff member
Reaction score
CowboysZone ULTIMATE Fan
BlueWave said:
Not just clouds. Check your signal meter. You may have to change transponders to one with a stronger signal. If you cannot find one in the nineties, you will probably have to readjust the actual satalite. It should only go out in downpours, or right before a downpour.

I agree with BlueWave .. I have a 95 signal strength and the ONLY time I ever lose signal is about 60 seconds before a downpour and it usually only lasts up to 5-10 minutes at most.

Definitely do as BW suggested and check your signal strength, then check signal strengths to other transponders to see if you can do better with them. If your signal strength is below 80 on every transponder, your dish is most likely not aligned correctly OR its view is being obstructed by something such as trees.

Jarv

Loud pipes saves lives.