Questions about an old boiler

Sarek

Povar
Reaction score
I'm leaving the house soon for a month to go to Europe and Egypt.

When i leave my boiler thermostat on 60 the furnace will kick in when the temperature drops but it won't automatically shut off, sometimes it does automatically shut off. I have no time to fix it before i leave.

I was wondering what will happen if it kicks in and doesn't shut off automatically while I'm gone.

Will the boiler break, or something else bad happen besides a huge gas bill?

If i leave the boiler switched turned off in winter 20 to 45 degrees outside, will the pipes freeze and burst?

Thanks

Reality

Staff member
Reaction score
CowboysZone ULTIMATE Fan
To be clear, I have no experience with boilers, but I had a furnace-based central heating system that would occasionally not cut off and all it took was replacing the thermastat.

Obviously there is no way to know for sure, but why not call an expert in and have them take a look to see what the problem is?

At worst, they can give you experienced advice on the best way to handle it while you are gone.

At best, they solve the problem quickly and cheaply.

Either way, you are only out the "check out" bill and the process should should not take that long.

Creeper

Reaction score
I'm leaving the house soon for a month to go to Europe and Egypt.

When i leave my boiler thermostat on 60 the furnace will kick in when the temperature drops but it won't automatically shut off, sometimes it does automatically shut off. I have no time to fix it before i leave.

I was wondering what will happen if it kicks in and doesn't shut off automatically while I'm gone.

Will the boiler break, or something else bad happen besides a huge gas bill?

If i leave the boiler switched turned off in winter 20 to 45 degrees outside, will the pipes freeze and burst?

Thanks