Random Cowboys thoughts

GhostOfPelluer

Reaction score
I'm a newbie so I have to post this here. I get a wild hair to write some thoughts down from time to time.

Disclaimer: I don’t have any inside knowledge or journalistic insight. All I have is more than 30 years of experience watching football at various levels – as a player, briefly as a coach, as a journalist and as a fan. These are simply my thoughts:

1. There is all this talk about whether it’s the Packers or the Giants or the Falcons being the teams Dallas should be afraid of in this postseason. It’s the Cowboys who should be feared.

Yes, Aaron Rodgers is playing his best ball of the season, but the fact remains they have a converted WR at running back and the Packers defense is not good. Rodgers can’t throw 5 TDs if he isn’t on the field.

The Giants have beaten Dallas twice in a pair of razor-thin-margin games. It’s hard to beat a team three times in one season, much less a team that you aren’t appreciably better than. Dallas is due against them.

The Falcons have an explosive offense, but Dallas can play ball control better than anyone and that defense is so good at bend but don’t break that the Cowboys can trade touchdowns for ATL field goals all day.

Besides, I’m not so sure Atlanta gets by Seattle.

2. Randy Gregory hasn’t contributed a thing to Dallas’ season this year. Losing him isn’t going to hurt them. It’s a sad situation for him, but the team is prepared to play without him.

3. Rested Zeke will get the ball 30-35 times unless Dallas gets a big lead and they don’t need him that much. That’s a good thing. He’s feeling fresh and spry, too, judging by reports.