Unbiased Assesment

TheDude

McLovin
Reaction score
Not that I am an expert and have coaches film, but I am pretty unbiased and and have looked at games from this year and last on Tv taped games. Honestly, everyone deserves some criticism, but coaching is #1, followed by Romo, then O Line and then Receivers at the end.

Receivers
Owens - T.O has a couple of major football problems that I see.
  • He breaks off routes early to improvise. I think he saw Polomalu cutting off the out route underneath and he tried to go up. His biggest plays this year have been on improvised scrambles (See SF game). This works well when the QB is in a groove, but does not work well in tough and tight games where the QB is being hurried, wind etc. I think this could be corrected by coaching and discipline. I believe TO can be that disciplined, but he is trying for the big play
  • The other is fundamental, he catches the ball too close to his body. Every drop is when he lets the ball get into him. The Interception at Washington where he was hit wouldn't have bounced so high to be an interception if he would put his hands out like Fitzgerald. He hasn't dropped as many this year, but even on some deep throws (GB?) If he would jump with his arms above his head, he would catch more or at least make the Int harder. Jumping with your elbows on your hip bone doesn't make you taller.
  • I don't think he "gives up" ala Moss, but he can be "taken out of the game" if he is not part of it, he gets frustrated and his fundamentals start to erode.
  • Mentally may be another story, but I will lay that off on the coaching (later).