A little horn tooting...

Juke99

...Abbey someone
Reaction score
So, on a lark, I joined a songwriting contest.

Oddly and appropriately enough, it was sponsored by the Dallas Songwriters Assoc, quite a large Association.

Anyway, I entered the category which featured all the heavy hitters, "Instrumentals...classical, Jazz, etc" which was pretty nervy for a self taught guitarist.

And who was chosen for first prize? Yeah, the kid from Brooklyn NY who looks at sheet music and sez, "What are all those little dots about?"

If you're so inclined...

http://www.dallassongwriters.org/

DSA 2005 SONG CONTEST WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Click "click here for details" and scroll down to the "Instrumental / TV / Film / Classical / Jazz" category.

Here's the final review of my song, "Heaven and Earth"

This instrumental is a uncomplicated melody that wouldn’t leave my brain. After listening through the CD a couple of times, I couldn’t figure out where this tune in my head was coming from. It kept repeating over and over again. On a subsequent listen through the list, I realized that’s what was stuck in my head all day yesterday…The melody is simple, memorable, effortless and unforced. Song structure is straightforward without complexity… Production comment: Playing is rushed at times and almost didn’t consider it because of it. Still love it and would love to hear it again with a new production.

:D

trickblue

Not Old School...Old Testament...
Reaction score
That's great Juke... nice work and congrats...

BUT... please refrain from tooting in the forums...

btw... is there a link to the tune?

Juke99

...Abbey someone
Reaction score
TruBlueCowboy said:
Catchy little tune. I particularly like the chorus that plays at :50, 1:50 and 3:10.

Thanks...

The final review has it right on the nose, I kinda knocked it off...heard what was a bit sloppy and in typical rock musician mode said "Ah the hell with it...it's fine..no one is going to listen to it anyway." Duh.

BrAinPaiNt