FICO Score

Crown Royal

Insulin Beware
Reaction score
The last several months have been a bit tough financially. I was a college student, and I have had, for a bit over a year, a job at Starbucks parttime.

I came from insurance before that to come back to school - I was making 30K/year (not bad for someone who wasn't yet 21) and was about to get a promo that would have payed 45K. I walked away to live the college life.

Not only am I a bad student, but apparently, I was poor at managing my finances when my income dropped by around 75% (because retail pays in peanuts). Anyhow, it was getting very, very bad over the last few months, and finally, a month ago, I had to go to the Old Man for help. I borrowed about 4K from him to get myself out of the hole I had dug.

Apparently, though, it was too little too late. For at least a year before I went back to school, my FICO credit score hovered between 680 and 730, never dropping below the 680 score. Since about, oh, April, I hadn't checked it once. I just did today - and it was 456. My jaw dropped to the gound. Right now, I feel sick. I knew it wasn't going to be pretty, but I never imagined my credit could be so low.

A lot of you know my plans to go into the military. After a summer of thought, I have reconsidered substantially. I still think I want to do it, but it hit me that, for the job I would want, I would be in until I am 28 years old (6 year commitment). So I am weighing other options, some of which include going back to work in the business world, a world in which I excel.

But for you financial gurus - HOW DO I GET MY FICO BACK UP!? Am I screwed for 7 years? Or are there measures I can take to get back on track. I don't like the idea of bad credit - looks bad to creditors, employers, and it just feels wrong. My credit is important to me, and it is unfortunate that the last few months had to give me such a kick.

Thanks all!

Hoov

Reaction score