Music is a money pit

catiii

Reaction score
I've been a professional musician since 17 and even had a song played by the late Ron Chapman (RIP) on KVIL and severeal others on WNAV in Annapolis from my CD. It got a lot of newspaper publicity and I earned a couple royalty checks (enough for a couple of dinners at Outback LOL.)
Now that I'm retired on SS, my old 23 yr old gear is all starting to die (Tascam CD-RW700, Roland VS-880, Yamaha keyboard synth - all treated with white gloves and gently) and I can't afford new mics, gear, new keyboard, audi interfaces, 8 track mem card recorders, or new guitars but those of course are in fine condition. They don't "go bad" LOL.) Makes it very difficult to write if you can no longer record though. I can't even make a demo anymore.
Very frustrating.
I hate getting old. :(
Anyone else have money pit professions or hobbies/avocations they can no longer afford?

dsturgeon

Reaction score
I could never afford any of my hobbies, but top of the list is golf. I can't afford to try to get good at it.

Same here. Walking is about the only way I could do it consistently, and not at the courses I wanted to. If you don't do it often and it is hot out, it is hard to make it 18 holes carrying the bag and keep up a high level of play.

I played 3 years in high school and went to the course everyday with a coach. The best i could do was consistently shoot in the 80's and sometimes in 70's sometimes in 90's.

Besides the guys on tv, and people who don't play by the rules, it is rare to find anyone who is actually good. The trick is to realize you wont get good at it, and enjoy it

Runwildboys

Confused about stuff
Reaction score
CowboysZone DIEHARD Fan
Same here. Walking is about the only way I could do it consistently, and not at the courses I wanted to. If you don't do it often and it is hot out, it is hard to make it 18 holes carrying the bag and keep up a high level of play.