That still was a catch! **merge**

No, it isn't a football move.

I would say the forearm shiver to the second defender was a football move. And going to the ground was more about avoiding a big hit than anything to do with completing the catch. The rule is one of the worst in football. It has been called differently a dozen times. Either way it needed to be fully reviewed.
 
Agreed, after replay it is still not a catch. He tucked it in while in the process of losing his footing and falling down (3 stumbling steps are not the same as 3 steps). He never had posession.
 
No, it isn't a football move.

So catching the ball, securing it, taking 2-3 steps, bracing for hit, hitting the ground, and sliding on the ground with your entire body 2-3 feet with the ball still secured. ...Then it pops loose is not a catch?? I doubt that....I think they blew it.
 
Caught the ball, then knee hit the ground, was down by contact. In my opinion, clearly a catch.
 
That being said, we're equally fortunate that that play didn't result in a fumble that would be recovered by the Giants. Very easily could have.


I suppose all's well that ends well.
 
Too many judgment calls in the NFL....this causes interpetation and usually ends up not being called in-correctly even with replay. I thought it was a catch....but then again I guess I dont know what constitutes a "football move".
 
For a football move the player has to secure the ball (check) and then take steps (check). That's a catch. The other rule that is being misapplied is only when the act of catching the ball is being made while falling to the ground.
 
That being said, we're equally fortunate that that play didn't result in a fumble that would be recovered by the Giants. Very easily could have.


I suppose all's well that ends well.

How can you fumble if you didn't make a football move (whatever that is)?
 
Did Dallas win?

If so, why does that catch matter?

Oh, that's right, it doesn't.
 
Dez had a good game. But it would have been even better had he gone North a little more than East-West.

He's still got a few more things to learn, such as this, but I'm impressed with the receiver he's turned into despite his drop problems Sunday.
 
That being said, we're equally fortunate that that play didn't result in a fumble that would be recovered by the Giants. Very easily could have.


I suppose all's well that ends well.

No, it could not have been ruled a fumble.
 

Staff online

Forum statistics

Threads
464,634
Messages
13,823,534
Members
23,781
Latest member
Vloh10
Back
Top