Writing .MTS files to DVD

Aikmaniac

Reaction score
CowboysZone LOYAL Fan
Just got a new Canon HD camcorder.

I used it for the first time at an airshow. I'm now interested in some video editing and then burning to DVD.

The camera records to .MTS files.

In the past, I have used Windows MovieMaker as a quick way to throw a movie together. Obviously, I can't use this software with .MTS files without downloading a MTS to WMV converter.

I know we have some unbelievable video editors as members here. Do you have suggestions?

I have done a lot of google'ing to see that the best thing to do to not lose the quality is burning to a Blu-ray, unfortunately I do not have a blu-ray burner.

I'm not a techie by any means as you can tell.

Thanks for the help.

63echo

Reaction score
Aikmaniac;3900614 said:
Just got a new Canon HD camcorder.

I used it for the first time at an airshow. I'm now interested in some video editing and then burning to DVD.

The camera records to .MTS files.

In the past, I have used Windows MovieMaker as a quick way to throw a movie together. Obviously, I can't use this software with .MTS files without downloading a MTS to WMV converter.

I know we have some unbelievable video editors as members here. Do you have suggestions?

I have done a lot of google'ing to see that the best thing to do to not lose the quality is burning to a Blu-ray, unfortunately I do not have a blu-ray burner.

I'm not a techie by any means as you can tell.

Thanks for the help.

Maybe not much help here, but I use Sony Vegas for my MTS files. It's a great program and well worth the $70 for the consumer version. I've also heard good things about DVD Flick (free!), but I haven't bothered with it since I've already got my solution. FWIW, the files I end up burning to DVD look pretty sharp. It's not Blu Ray quality obviously, but they still look really good.