Defensive Holding Penalt\y Yardage Tacked on

So what was the deal with the two defensive holding penalties on us where they tacked on the yardage to the end of the run?

Typically on a defensive holding call you take the five yards and the first down or you take the result of the play right?
If you make a successful play and get yards you get that + the penalty!! If not you just get the 5 yards
 
If you make a successful play and get yards you get that + the penalty!! If not you just get the 5 yards
I don't know if I am just being an idiot, but I don't think that is the case. On defensive holding don't you accept the penalty and get the penalty yards with a first down, or you decline the penalty and take the results of the play, not both?.
 
You only get the extra yards on a running play, I believe.
 
Only on a run? Maybe this just doesn’t come up much because of that. ? I was surprised too by the 5.
 
I don't know if I am just being an idiot, but I don't think that is the case. On defensive holding don't you accept the penalty and get the penalty yards with a first down, or you decline the penalty and take the results of the play, not both?.
Yes but if you have a successful play you add that on to it decline it. Same when a DL goes off sides and it's a FREE PLAY you get yards, good, then you add on the penalty
 
Yes but if you have a successful play you add that on to it decline it. Same when a DL goes off sides and it's a FREE PLAY you get yards, good, then you add on the penalty
No, the offsides penalties are declined, unless the offense feels the 5 yards and replay of the down is better than the result of the play.
 
So what was the deal with the two defensive holding penalties on us where they tacked on the yardage to the end of the run?

Typically on a defensive holding call you take the five yards and the first down or you take the result of the play right?
Always thought only one penalty was accessed on a play, except when another infraction was committed after a play was over, in addition to the penalty during the play.
 
I don't know if I am just being an idiot, but I don't think that is the case. On defensive holding don't you accept the penalty and get the penalty yards with a first down, or you decline the penalty and take the results of the play, not both?.
Clearly not. You just saw the application of the rule. Twice.

Yet you persist in thinking you are right? Despite clear evidence of the contrary?
 

Staff online

Forum statistics

Threads
464,614
Messages
13,822,170
Members
23,781
Latest member
Vloh10
Back
Top