Any history buffs here?

windward

NFL Historian
Reaction score
I have my undergraduate degree in History. My areas of interests lie in the world prior to and immediately after world war I. (Middle East, British Empire, Palestine, British Mandate, etc...)

As far as American History, I have a fondness for antebellum America and the Civil War as well.

What are your interests?

silverbear

Semi-Official Loose Cannon
Reaction score
windward;1421379 said:
I have my undergraduate degree in History. My areas of interests lie in the world prior to and immediately after world war I. (Middle East, British Empire, Palestine, British Mandate, etc...)

As far as American History, I have a fondness for antebellum America and the Civil War as well.

What are your interests?

Civil War buff here... my specific interest is the Army of Northern Virginia...

My family's home is Hagerstown, hard up against the Antietam battlefield... went swimming (more like wading) in Antietam Creek on more than a few occasions... my Boy Scout troop used to spend two weeks up on the Gettysburg battlefield every summer, I remember stealing apples off of Eisenhower's farm back when Ike was still alive...

And these days, I live in the Shenandoah Valley... the New Market battlefield is 10 minutes from the house, the nearest church served as a Union hospital during that battle... the road I live on was one, Moreland Gap Road, was one of the "escape routes" that Stonewall used to elude the North during his Valley Campaign... my house isn't that old, but Confederate soldiers marched right past where it stands today, probably filled their canteens in the creek that now runs under my back porch...