DMN: Werder responds to TO's Post-game interview

ajk23az

Through Pain Comes Clarity
Reaction score
T.O. talked to NBC; Ed Werder talks here

3:31 PM Mon, Dec 15, 2008 | Permalink
Barry Horn E-mail News tips

Finally caught up with ESPN's Eddie "Lightning Rod" Werder this afternoon to gauge his reaction about being called out by Terrell Owens on national TV during Sunday's post-game happy talk with NBC's Andrea Kremer.

T.O. went the double negative route with Kremer, accusing Werder "of a lack of unprofessionalism." Not to put Werder words in T.O.'s mouth but what he probably meant was "lack of professionalism."

So Mr. Werder how does it feel?
"I was shocked," Werder said. "I've been covering the Cowboys since 1989 and I have never been put in a position like that. It was a first."

When the two saw each other in the post-game news conference, Werder reports, "He called me a name but it wasn't a profanity."

Werder, it should be pointed out, was not the only reporter to deal with last week's series of Owens-related events. In fact, he wasn't the first to report the Owens-Roy Williams-Patrick Crayton trip to Jason Garrett's office. Nor was he the first to report on the alleged skirmish between T.O. and Witten. Werder's Thursday report was primarily on T.O.'s effect on Romo. In that report, he quoted Bradie James on his role in mediating and relied on unnamed sources.

Werder thinks what T.O. really wants is to know who Werder's sources are. "I think that's his frustration in all of this. He wants to know who in the locker room I talked to who obviously doesn't respect him and I won't ever tell him that."

SultanOfSix

Star Power
Reaction score
ajk23az;2497601 said:
Werder thinks what T.O. really wants is to know who Werder's sources are. "I think that's his frustration in all of this. He wants to know who in the locker room I talked to who obviously doesn't respect him and I won't ever tell him that."