DraftSharks latest mock - Alan Branch, DT

Wimbo

Reaction score
JUMbotron: NFL Mock Draft v 3.0
by John U. Miller IV
April 19, 2007

1. Oakland Raiders: QB JaMarcus Russell (LSU):
Disclaimer: I’m an LSU fan. I studied Russell closely and watched every snap in 7 or 8 of his games. For me it’s not about whether he’s “pro-ready” or not. How many rookie QBs are? Even Peyton Manning threw 34 INTs in his first 20 games. It’s about “Does Russell make plays?” I’m here to tell you he does. Big ones. No way Brady Quinn goes #1.
2. Tampa Bay Bucs [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif](trade up w/ Detroit):[/FONT] WR Calvin Johnson (Ga Tech): Jon Gruden gets his man. But at what price? The Bucs’ roster is seeping age everywhere – Ronde Barber, Greg Spires, Luke Petitgout, Kevin Carter, Derrick Brooks – with lots of key players entering the twilight stage. Nevertheless, both Gruden and GM Bruce Allen know a kid like Calvin Johnson won’t be at their door again for 10 years.
3. Cleveland Browns: RB Adrian Peterson (Oklahoma): Peterson is like a brand new HP Touch Smart PC and Jamal Lewis is the one-year Geek Squad warranty. That’s it. Peterson is the toy. A.D. (All Day) Peterson will grind out 120-yard games in December when the AFC North is taking Wild-Card applications.
4. Detroit Lions [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif](trade down w/ TB):[/FONT] DE Gaines Adams (Clemson): All the analysts keep saying Adams “creates havoc” in opposing backfields. The Lions could use a little havoc on defense. Plus they’ll get a package of Tampa’s draft picks to move down. Rod Marinelli “is totally enamored of Adams” per NFL Network’s Charles Davis. The ACC’s sack leader can be the “bandit” edge-rusher that Derrick Brooks was for Marinelli in Tampa Bay. Note: Adams reportedly admitted to smoking pot once in college. Red flag?