Reasons for Bobby Carpenter to be picked

Bigdog

Reaction score
I do not post much but enjoy reading others posts especially the mock drafts. Please keep them coming. I am no expert by any means and we all like our different players on who are beloved Cowboys should pick at outside linebacker. I like all 3 in Wimbley, Carpenter, and Lawson, but I am tending to lean to Carpenter for these various reasons:

1) Has played the linebacker position before and will not have to change positions like the other two.

2) He is very versitile which would help us. We do not know if Adoyle will be a good middle linbacker (never played in this type of defense, I think) and we do not know the health status of Kevin Burnett.

3) He plays the run and pass equally well and i read that he had 10 sacks in just 8 games. He ran a 4.6 I believe and will play the strong side which he would have to face a tight end and tackle. Lawson ran a 4.4 and I do not know how fast Wimbley but Sporting News magazine reported that it was 4.6. There is not much difference in times. Besides that is overall speed in the 40, I read where Caprenter has a good 10 yard burst. That is all you need to get to the quarterback.

4) Anticipates well according to publish reports such as ESPN and Sporting News.