The hype train

BlindFaith

Reaction score
The barbarian was real good until we made him a full-time starter. Didn’t take long for him to run out of gas.
Talk about a guy willing to put everything into every run. I admire it, but it doesnt lead to a very long career.

plasticman

Reaction score
Eddie George.

The dude flat tore it up for the Oiler/Titans. When the Cowboys signed him as a veteran free agent I actually thought the Cowboys were going to do something. Jerry was hyping up Eddie George like he was in his prime. He had 1000 yard seasons in 7 of his 8 years in the league and the lone exception was a 940 yard effort.

"He's a great fit for us, and he will complement an offence that will be about power running," - Jerry Jones

https://www.cbc.ca/sports/football/eddie-george-signs-with-cowboys-1.473446

Meanwhile, our quarterback was going to be Vinnie Testeverde. They also traded for Keyshawn Johnson and brought in Ritchie Anderson. Parcells was gathering up some old warriors.

What made the signing even more exciting was the state of the defense, ranked #1 in yardage and #2 in points scored. This was the Cowboys best ranking in their history. It still is.

So the Cowboys were armed with a veteran quarterback and a veteran WR that were both former #1 picks overall. They had the toughest workhorse in the league over the previous 8 seasons. Eddie was going to power this team to a Super Bowl.

Eddie George had nothing left. I mean "NOTHING".

He had no burst, no speed, no power. The first place he was hit by a defender was where he dropped. He averaged 3.3 yards a carry. His backup, rookie Julius Jones, took over halfway through the season and averaged 4.2 yards a carry

The Cowboys, 10-6 the previous season, dropped to 6-10.

BlindFaith

Reaction score
Eddie George.