How was that Cin ball when they didn't get a first down after the touch?

droopdog7

Well-Known Member
Messages
6,789
Reaction score
5,534
I swear that didn’t used to a first down. Yeah, we touched it beyond the line. But even when they recovered, it was well behind the first down line. Doesn’t make any sense that it’s Cin ball in that case. Should still be fourth down.

Okay, I’m sure I don’t know the rule but still.

Of course, how in the heck do we still have professional football players that don’t know you’re supposed to leave that ball alone. I swear the ball found the only player that didn’t know that rule. Everyone else in the stadium, including the toddlers in attendance, knew the deal.
 
I swear that didn’t used to a first down. Yeah, we touched it beyond the line. But even when they recovered, it was well behind the first down line. Doesn’t make any sense that it’s Cin ball in that case. Should still be fourth down.

Okay, I’m sure I don’t know the rule but still.

Of course, how in the heck do we still have professional football players that don’t know you’re supposed to leave that ball alone. I swear the ball found the only player that didn’t know that rule. Everyone else in the stadium, including the toddlers in attendance, knew the deal.


The rule is, if a punt passes the line of scrimmage. Whether it’s blocked or not. And the receiving team touches the ball…. The ball is live.

That’s the rule. It’s the correct calll. Happened a few years ago to the cowboys too. Because it’s a dumb pathetic franchise.
 
The rule is, if a punt passes the line of scrimmage. Whether it’s blocked or not. And the receiving team touches the ball…. The ball is live.

That’s the rule. It’s the correct calll. Happened a few years ago to the cowboys too. Because it’s a dumb pathetic franchise.
It’s live, but I thought the first down still mattered. So they recovered but didn’t get a first down. Obviously I’m wrong but this is the way I always understood the rule.
 
If a kick passes the LOS, whether it was blocked/tipped or not, it is definitionally a punt. If the receiving team touches the ball after it crosses the LOS, it becomes a live ball/fumble.
 
It’s live, but I thought the first down still mattered. So they recovered but didn’t get a first down. Obviously I’m wrong but this is the way I always understood the rule.
a kick is change of possession
 
If you play punt return I'm sure you hear 1000x "don't touch it on a block", that's why whenever you see that happen and the ball goes past the LOS you see guys with their hands out waiving everyone away. No one on our moronic team did that.
 
Same as onside kick rules. One Dallas touched it it's fair game for them to recover with automatic 1st down.
 
It’s live, but I thought the first down still mattered. So they recovered but didn’t get a first down. Obviously I’m wrong but this is the way I always understood the rule.


The line to gain doesn’t matter in accordance with this rule. It acts similar to a fumble.

If defense gets and Int or fumble and possess the ball. Then the defender fumbles, the offense gets a first down regardless of the line to gain.

Same thing for this situation that happened tonight. It’s like the cowboys player fumbled.
 
Right, but I think his point is it wasn't past the line of gain. I don't agree with the rule but it is what it is.
Once the ball is kicked and goes past the line of scrimmage it's a change of possession, so the line of gain no longer exists. It's no different than any other muffed punt.
 
It’s live, but I thought the first down still mattered. So they recovered but didn’t get a first down. Obviously I’m wrong but this is the way I always understood the rule.
The moment the ball is punted, Cincinnati’s drive ends. So whatever happens after that is a brand new possession with new down markers.
 
I swear that didn’t used to a first down. Yeah, we touched it beyond the line. But even when they recovered, it was well behind the first down line. Doesn’t make any sense that it’s Cin ball in that case. Should still be fourth down.

Okay, I’m sure I don’t know the rule but still.

Of course, how in the heck do we still have professional football players that don’t know you’re supposed to leave that ball alone. I swear the ball found the only player that didn’t know that rule. Everyone else in the stadium, including the toddlers in attendance, knew the deal.
Once the ball crossed the LoS, it was touched by a Cowboys player. Then it was recovered by the Bengals. Basically it is a muffed punt. That is why anyone who plays special teams knows the rule that unless you hear the returner shouting fumble NO ONE but the returner may touch the ball.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
464,596
Messages
13,820,822
Members
23,781
Latest member
Vloh10
Back
Top