ESPN Insider: Mel Kiper Jr: Top 5 seniors by position

jackrussell

Last of the Duke Street Kings
Reaction score
Cbz40;1060296 said:
Drafting a stud QB in the 1st rd would certainly make Draft Day exciting for me. We drafted Troy in 1989......it's past time we draft a QB early.

You're gosh darn right it's past time. I've been begging for the last 5 years, when, BTW, we were in GREAT position to grab or make a move to aquire a QB.............even this year...........But noooooooooooo.....CBs, DEs, LBers........

Specialty players at the top, the rest at the bottom is the way I've always looked at it. You're hopefully not in a good position to get a high pick....so you shouldn't pass on those opportunities.

Cbz40

The Grand Poobah
Reaction score
jackrussell;1060308 said:
You're gosh darn right it's past time. I've been begging for the last 5 years, when, BTW, we were in GREAT position to grab or make a move to aquire a QB.............even this year...........But noooooooooooo.....CBs, DEs, LBers........

Specialty players at the top, the rest at the bottom is the way I've always looked at it. You're hopefully not in a good position to get a high pick....so you shouldn't pass on those opportunities.

We should have had Troy's replacement on the roster before he retired. Groomed and ready to take the reins.

big dog cowboy

THE BIG DOG
Staff member
Reaction score
CowboysZone ULTIMATE Fan
Cbz40;1060311 said:
We should have had Troy's replacement on the roster before he retired. Groomed and ready to take the reins.

That is a great point. There wasn't a post-Troy plan at QB. The revolving door at backup QB is an example of JJ not planning for the future.

daniukid

Reaction score
I don't have too much respect for Kiper, but I have less now that he didn't even mention Marshawn Lynch from Cal as a top 5. Take my word, Lynch will be a 1st round draft pick- no questions asked. And we'll be lucky as Cowboys if he slips to us since he has Sanders like moves and power.