Intentional Grounding?

Hmmm I don't know the rule but I thought that if a scrambling qb is out of pocket, there is no defensive holding or illegal contact downfield.

However, the push happened while the ball was in the air. In this case, PI should be called.

Regarding the intentional grounding, the refs can argue that there was so much pressure that Peyton underthrew his receiver or that the receiver ran the wrong option route

From what I remember seeing, the receiver was where the ball landed right before Peyton let it go. Still should of stopped them on 3rd down.

Underthrows and miscommunication are not valid excuses for intentional grounding. If there was contact that affected the throw yes, but there wasn't any on that play, it was IG.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
466,179
Messages
13,921,243
Members
23,795
Latest member
Derekbsenior
Back
Top