Did you Zoners believe it was spotted wrong? *Merge*

Wezsh0T;3066064 said:
I went back and looked at the chains when they measured (before the challenge) and took note of how far the chains were. They were about 1-2 inches in front of the logo spot where we could see the nose of the football land when McNabb's elbow hit. If the ball was spotted when McNabb's right elbow was seen to land, it was still going to be about an inch or two short. Moot point...

Right, .. see SuperPunks pictures in post #34, ... end of discussion.
 
superpunk;3066057 said:
Look at the two pictures. The first from when they measured.

http://i32.***BLOCKED***/albums/d2/superpunk2884/Cowboys/SPOT1.jpg

The 1st down is past the white on the tip of the Eagles emblem.

http://i32.***BLOCKED***/albums/d2/superpunk2884/Cowboys/SPOT2.jpg

At BEST, you can say that the tip of the ball is just shy of the end of the white on the Eagles emblem.

Either way they were going to turn it over on downs. But, if the ref had decided that it was indiputable that they could move it forward a foot, then Reid could have kept his timeout.

This is the best illustration of the spot (pre and post play) that I have seen. Like I said, I thought he got it. After looking at the two pictures, it's clear that he didn't regardless of where his left elbow was.

*As a side note (to address the last paragraph of the post above). The way I understand it (from what I've seen on another telecast), even if they could have moved the ball a foot forward, if the new spot didn't result in a 1st down then Reid still would have been charged the timeout and lost the challenge. I didn't understand that. I figured if he was right (even if he was wrong about the result being a 1st down) that he would retain the timeout. Seemingly not so, unless the announcers on the other game I had seen this on were wrong.

Since we are on the topic of poor spotting, the pass to McCoy (where he lunged back for the ball) was a piss poor spot, too. After reveiwing the play the ball should have been marked back another yard, since James didn't touch him until after he had retreated back past the 1st down marker.
 
I know it doesn't matter because we won, but that line on our TV screens was unofficial. I wonder what the officials looked at on that play. Just think, we held them to three LONG field goals and their only touchdown maybe wasn't. Great night for the Dallas D!
 
By the way Great stop defense. Eagles had 2 shots at picking up the short yardage and was stopped twice.
 
Off topic, but do you think Asante tried to pull RW11's left sleeve off in the endzone?
 
Had to have his full body beyond the line & on the replay his right foot was still behind it. Not that it mattered. :lmao:
 
l2obert;3066109 said:
Off topic, but do you think Asante tried to pull RW11's left sleeve off in the endzone?
:laugh2:

To mamacita, no, his foot was behind the LOS.
 
Ultra Warrior;3066111 said:
Had to have his full body beyond the line & on the replay his right foot was still behind it. Not that it mattered. :lmao:
That line is unofficial. Just sayin.' I'd love to see what the officials go by.
 
l2obert;3066109 said:
Off topic, but do you think Asante tried to pull RW11's left sleeve off in the endzone?

Why would you post that as a first reply to a thread? Don't be a .

And to the OP, no his right foot was still behind.

Reminds me of that TD Romo threw to Curtis @ NYG a few years back.
 
never liked the rule
should be the ball over the line and with all the technology we have, why not put a sensor in the ball and let that determine spotting the ball and TDs and over the line
 
That is a weird rule.

On most all other football rules, it is based on where the ball is, (TD's or first downs, etc.)

I think going past the LOS should be where the ball is too, but it is not, .. not sure why that is.

But based on the reading of the rule, the tip of his foot was behind the LOS for a split second so the call was right.
 
skinsscalper;3066099 said:
This is the best illustration of the spot (pre and post play) that I have seen. Like I said, I thought he got it. After looking at the two pictures, it's clear that he didn't regardless of where his left elbow was.

*As a side note (to address the last paragraph of the post above). The way I understand it (from what I've seen on another telecast), even if they could have moved the ball a foot forward, if the new spot didn't result in a 1st down then Reid still would have been charged the timeout and lost the challenge. I didn't understand that. I figured if he was right (even if he was wrong about the result being a 1st down) that he would retain the timeout. Seemingly not so, unless the announcers on the other game I had seen this on were wrong.

Since we are on the topic of poor spotting, the pass to McCoy (where he lunged back for the ball) was a piss poor spot, too. After reveiwing the play the ball should have been marked back another yard, since James didn't touch him until after he had retreated back past the 1st down marker.

Yeah, I was suprised that they didn't move McCoy back either... If they would have gotten that first down by inches I would have been rather upset. I actually thought, "Wade, you should 'rechallenge' the spot, because they still have it wrong"...
 
superpunk;3066057 said:
Look at the two pictures. The first from when they measured.

http://i32.***BLOCKED***/albums/d2/superpunk2884/Cowboys/SPOT1.jpg

The 1st down is past the white on the tip of the Eagles emblem.

http://i32.***BLOCKED***/albums/d2/superpunk2884/Cowboys/SPOT2.jpg

At BEST, you can say that the tip of the ball is just shy of the end of the white on the Eagles emblem.

Either way they were going to turn it over on downs. But, if the ref had decided that it was indiputable that they could move it forward a foot, then Reid could have kept his timeout.

Those photos should end the argument. He was clearly short of the first down.
 
No, he wasn't but Celek had a major pushoff to get open. Much worse than what Witten was called for!
 
It was a bad spot & should have been a 1st down BUT there was still over 10mins left in a TIED game to overcome that. One team DID & one team DIDN'T. We Won. They Didn't. The End. :bow:
 
JBell523;3066117 said:
Why would you post that as a first reply to a thread? Don't be a .

And to the OP, no his right foot was still behind.

Reminds me of that TD Romo threw to Curtis @ NYG a few years back.
Sorry it may be hard to tell based on a post, but I wasn't trying to come across that way. I think it was close and after they studied it they decided it was short. Maybe it was a make-up call for the other calls they screwed up.
 
Boyzmamacita;3066103 said:
I know it doesn't matter because we won, but that line on our TV screens was unofficial. I wonder what the officials looked at on that play. Just think, we held them to three LONG field goals and their only touchdown maybe wasn't. Great night for the Dallas D!

No I didn't think he was beyond the line. I do, however, wonder why no offensive pass interference was called on Celek? He slapped Sensabaugh in the face, then pushed off to get open...
 
Pretty sure those pictures show that he had the first down.
 
aikemirv;3066134 said:
No, he wasn't but Celek had a major pushoff to get open. Much worse than what Witten was called for!
He sure did. That's why I was glad they didn't call it on Roy when he had a slight push off on the sideline catch later on.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
464,665
Messages
13,825,065
Members
23,781
Latest member
Vloh10
Back
Top